A View From the Porch June 11, 2014

This week’s view from the porch is from my son and daughter-in-law’s home in York, PA.  Yes, I am on vacation.  It’s that time of year.  Growing up, we always took a vacation, even if it was only from PA to upstate New York to visit my grandparents.  As the time neared, my mother would explain my father’s grumpiness by proclaiming, “Your father needs a vacation.”  I learned early that taking a vacation from work was important to rejuvenate oneself.

At the same time, family has always been important to me.  This vacation is about being with and seeing my family.  I started with a visit to my brother.  Now I’m here with my son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren.  Next I’ll go to Northern Virginia to visit my daughter.  Next week, my son and his family and I will be at the beach in New Jersey.

The views today are of the lovely roses in full bloom at my son’s, as well as looking down the street as my grandchildren raced to school.  Yes, they are in their last days of school, so my joy and pleasure is to walk them to school and pick them up at the end of the day.

Thanks to the capable and caring Mary and Reynold, I can take this vacation with great assurance that all is busy and well at St. Agnes’ House.  Will you have a vacation this summer?  Where will you go?

Blessings and peace and enjoy this view from the porch.

The roses in full bloom.
The roses in full bloom.
The grandchildren running to school
The grandchildren running to school
Leave a Reply

