A View from the Porch, Sort of (October 9)

This week I attended the Diocesan Clergy Days at the Cathedral Domain.  Each year Bishop Hahn gathers us together.  We enjoy each other’s company, hear what’s happening around the Diocese and also explore important issues.  This year was no exception.

Yet, whenever I’m away from St. Agnes’ House, I’m still in touch.  Our phone system sends every voice mail message to me (and to Mary) in an email.  My email is full of voice mail messages and at a certain point in the day, I listen to them…one after another.

I hear the voices of each person as they leave their name, the dates they need lodging and for how many people.  I hear how they’re at the hospital right now and need a place to stay tonight.  I hear about their loved ones in the hospital and how they don’t really know how long they’ll need a room.  I hear from the social workers, who now are well known to us, about another family who desperately needs a place to stay.

And I know Mary is taking notes on each person, working her magic to put them in a room if she can or placing them on a waiting list in case a room becomes available.  Hearing the desperate pleas in the voicemails and not having a room is difficult, yet it is a common reality.

So, Mary and Reynold, assisted by a host of volunteers, clean bathrooms and kitchens, change beds and vacuum floors, doing what we can.  And the calls continue to come….

Kroger Rewards Card

If you haven’t done so already, consider linking your Kroger Rewards Care to St. Agnes’ House.  Our number is 10910.

Enjoy this fall view of the Cathedral Domain….

This was my view from the porch this week as I attended the Clergy Conference at the Cathedral Domain.
This was my view from the porch this week as I attended the Clergy Conference at the Cathedral Domain.

 

Leave a Reply

