A View from the Porch (October 15, 2014)

This week, I’m at St. Agnes’ House.  Upon arriving Sunday evening, I found 50 donations that had arrived in the past two weeks.  I dutifully recorded them and prepared them for deposit.  Tuesday evening, I prepared the thank-you notes.  Then I started signing them.

There’s something about that many at one time…that many names to record…that many people to thank.  As I signed my name to each one, I found myself wondering who all of you were.  So many of you are total strangers to me.   In so many cases, I’m not even familiar with where you live.  We’ve never met.  Many of you have given again and again.  “Oh, I recognize this name,” I think.

And I wonder about you.  I wonder about how you look, trying to think if your signature somehow describes your face.  I wonder what your life story is.  I wonder what generosity of nature compels you to sit down and write out a check and give to St. Agnes’ House.  What is your connection to the people who stay here?  What is it that motivates you to give of your treasure to help total strangers?

In three weeks, you’ve given nearly $9,000, an amount that operates the House for a month.  Some of you give when you receive our letters.  Some of you give each month.  Some of you give online.  Some of you give once a year.

Maybe one day I’ll get to meet you.  Maybe one day I’ll get to thank you in person.  Maybe one day, you can tell me your story.  For now, please know as I signed my name to thank you, I said a prayer of thanks for you!

Enjoy our view from the porch!  I’ve also included some photos of our red doors!  Donnie has been busy once again and painted all of the exterior doors.  We bought red paint and explained that red doors are characteristic of Episcopalians and are a sign of welcome.

Love, Rebecca+

In-Kind donations always help!

Recently, we’ve received in-kind donations of toilet paper and cleaning wipes from Bluegrass United Church of Christ.  If you’d like to donate, here’s what we need most right now:

Bleach
Fabric dryer sheets
lysol spray
Shower Cleaner
Trash bags – tall kitchen
Laundry Soap

Donate to St. Agnes’ House through Kroger Rewards Card
Our organization number is 10910. For more information on linking your card, go here.

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to take the time to thank those of you who run, and volunteer here at St. Agnes.  I don’t know what my family and I would have done if not for this place.  Because of your generosity I am able to spend time with my babies every single day.  Something I wouldn’t be able to do otherwise.  For that, I am forever grateful.  Having two premature babies in the NICU is stressful enough without having to wonder where you’re going to lay your head down at night.  If there were more places like this, and more people like those who keep this place running, the world would be so much better.  I thank you all from the bottom of my heart, and will forever be in your debt.  There simply aren’t enough words for me to even begin to express my gratitude.  From a recent guest.

View of the porch today.  Had to take the flag down yesterday because the wind was bending it!  And notice the mums still blooming.
View of the porch today. Had to take the flag down yesterday because the wind was bending it! And notice the mums still blooming.
It's fall and all of the plants are inside rather than on the porch.
It’s fall and all of the plants are inside rather than on the porch.
A gray fall day.
A gray fall day.
Front Door
Front Door
Door from the patio to the Front House
Door from the patio to the Front House
Door from the patio into the back house.  See the concrete repairs to the cracks, too.
Door from the patio into the back house. See the concrete repairs to the cracks, too.
Leave a Reply

