A View From the Porch (January 29, 2015)

Four years ago today my father died.  I was fortunate to be with him the last week of his life.  He was in a terrific nursing home and they were very attentive to the needs of him and of our family who gathered around him.  He was receiving hospice care, which was also wonderful and supportive.

While my home was nearly 100 miles away, I was fortunate to have family nearby that provided a place for me to stay each night, so I could get rest and renewal.  I could be present with my dad.  He was not lucid much of that time.  But I played his favorite music and bought him beautiful yellow roses and talked to him.  He’d done so much for me, so I was grateful to be there with him.

That’s why St. Agnes’ House is so important.  Yes, we hope the loved ones of our guests get well and go home.  But that’s not always the case.  Sometimes we support families so when death comes, they have some peace and comfort, knowing they could be with their loved one during this important life transition.

My view from the porch is a photo of my father and the cover of his memorial book.  My dad’s favorite Bible verse was Isaiah 40:31, “…but those who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”

Love, Rebecca+

Planning for a Good Death

Yes, most of us don’t like to think about our own death.  Yet we give a wonderful gift to our loved ones when we do.  Does someone know what you’d like for your funeral?  Does someone know your wishes regarding medical care?  Does someone know what legacy you’d like to leave?  Please give this gift to your family….

Talk to your lawyer or find one.  Talk to your financial adviser or find one.  Talk to your priest or pastor.  When your loved ones are in the midst of grief, making these decisions is very difficult.  Give them a little bit of comfort.

"...but those who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint." Isaiah 40:31
“…but those who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31
Leave a Reply

