A View From The Porch (May 7, 2015)

Once again, I’m back in Pennsylvania.  My nephew graduates from Temple University this Friday.  His father, my brother, recently died, so I thought it was necessary for me to attend this acknowledgement of my nephew’s achievement.

At the beginning of the week, I’ve been staying with my son and his family, waking up early as my grandkids get ready for school and being there at the end of the day, helping them with their homework.

On Tuesday evening, my granddaughter said she didn’t feel well.  Taking her temperature proved she had a fever.  She went to bed with juice in a cup nearby and a dose of medicine.

At 12:30 at night, she comes rushing into my room in a panic, waking me up.  She couldn’t find her cup of juice and her mouth was so dry.  This started a period of about 4 hours of her sleeping with me and waking up and needing something.  She just felt miserable.  She wanted to sleep with someone and needed to be comforted.

Isn’t that true for all of us?  When we don’t feel well, we appreciate the comfort of someone who loves us.  We want someone to hear our cries and our fears.

While I was glad to be with my granddaughter for much of the night, I was also tired and exhausted the next day. I’m not used to having my sleep broken up like that throughout the night.  I was grateful when my granddaughter slept through the next night!

That’s why St. Agnes’ House and your contributions are so important.  Together we make sure people facing medical crises have someone they love close by and we make sure that those loved ones can get the breaks and rest they need to be there.

THANKS so much for making love, care and rest happen!

Enjoy my view from the porch.

Love, Rebecca+

Clean and supply our 8 bathrooms! Go to http://bit.ly/1iawcJs

We are especially in need of bathroom cleaning products and supplies.  We have 8 bathrooms, after all!  We need toilet paper, hand soap, toilet bowl cleaner, shower cleaner, Swiffer Wet Jet Cleaner and pads, all-purpose cleaner, and cleaning wipes.  You can find these products on our Amazon Wish List.  THANKS!

Volunteer for data input and cleanup needed!

The Diocese has purchased a donor management system, which allows us to keep better track of your donations and your contact information.  The system is up and running, but as with anything new, needs some further clean-up work.  If you’re skilled at his, please call Rebecca at 859-254-1241.

Become a Pledger to St. Agnes’ House

Join a group of supporters who provide regular, ongoing support for St. Agnes’ House. Pledges of $10 per month and up are possible.  A monthly pledge of $18 per month provides a bed space for one person for one night for each month of the year!

There are a number of ways to set this up.

1. Set up a bill pay program with your bank. Make checks payable to St. Agnes’ House and send them to the Episcopal Diocese of Lexington, PO Box 610, Lexington, KY 40588.

2. Send your personal check each month.  Make check payable to St. Agnes’ House and send to Episcopal Diocese of Lexington, PO Box 610, Lexington, KY 40588.

3.  Have a credit card charged each month. Contact Rebecca at stagneslex@gmail.com to set this up.

The lilacs are in bloom.  I love their fragrance.
The lilacs are in bloom. I love their fragrance.
My parents bought this redbud tree for my son and his family when they moved into their house. A wonderful spring reminder of them.
My parents bought this redbud tree for my son and his family when they moved into their house. A wonderful spring reminder of them.
Lots of songbirds in this neighborhood...
Lots of songbirds in this neighborhood…
I love walking to school or the bus stop with my grandchildren.
I love walking to school or the bus stop with my grandchildren.

Leave a comment